

American Society of Agronomy Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Tuesday, Jan. 23, 2024 11:00am-12:15pm (Central)

President Kristen Veum called the meeting to order.

Board members present:

President: Kristen Veum, USDA-ARS Columbia, MO (2024)
President-Elect: Peter Kyveryga, Deere & Company (2024)
Agronomic Production Systems: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M (2024)
Biometry & Statistical Computing: Asim Biswas, U of Guelph (2024)
Climatology & Modeling: Jessica Torrion, Montana State (2024)
DEI Member-at-Large: Candice Duncan, Univ. of Maryland (2026)
Early Career Rep.: Nicole Fiorellino, Univ. of Maryland (2025)
Education & Extension: Tabare Abadie, Corteva Agriscience (2026)
Environmental Quality: Amy Shober, Univ. of Delaware (2025)
Finance Representative: Gary Feyereisen, USDA-ARS (2026)
Global Agronomy: Valentin Picasso, University of Wisconsin (2026)
Grad Student Rep: Tagdeer Gill, University of Wisconsin (2024)

ICCA Representative: Andy Knepp, Corteva Agriscience (2026) Industry Representative: Colin Campbell, METER Group (2025) Land Mgmt & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, Univ. of Maryland (2024) Ex-Officio without Vote: CEO Jim Cudahy; Member Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS (2024); Program Planning Officer Jim Ippolito, Ohio State Univ. (2025); ASF Chair Stella Salvo, Bayer Crop Science (2024)

Unable to attend:

Past President: Joann Whalen, McGill University (2024)

Also attending:

Susan Chapman, Special Projects Director Susan Dearing-Bond, Development Director

Dawn Gibas, Certification Director

Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer Sara Uttech, Governance Director

A003 Board of Directors

1. The meeting opened with 15 minutes of networking and explanation of future topical discussions at the start of each board meeting. Board members volunteered to select and lead the discussions:

February: Asim Biswas	August:
March: Jim Ippolito – Program Planning	September:
April: Valentin Picasso	October: Taqdeer Gill
May: Kathy Yeater – Dirty Publications	November:
June: Colin Campbell	December:
July: Peter Kyveryga	

- 2. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
 - Jan. 23, 2024 ASA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
 - Dec. 20, 2023 ASA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
 - Accept electronic board vote to keep Wiley as the ACSESS Publisher (2025-2028) though keep confidential
- 3. CEO Jim Cudahy update:
 - New Director of Finance & Accounting Sheri Springer beginning Feb. 12
 - Progress on Operationalizing the Strategic Plan following Department Directors Retreat
 - Internal IT Assessment
 - Websites Redesign Project
 - New logos and branding
- 4. Board members to encourage colleagues and students to participate in ASA, CSSA, SSSA Awards and Scholarships: www.agronomy.org/awards
 - Award Nominations close 3/12/2024 | Submissions due 3/19/2024
 - Scholarship Applications close 3/19/2024 | Submissions due 3/26/2024
 - · ASA Awards Policy: board can't participate in ASA Awards, but can in CSSA & SSSA
 - All awards (except Fellow) allow for self-nominations; you complete the award nomination and invite reference writers via the online award system

- 5. Next ASA Board of Directors Meeting Tuesday Feb. 27, 11:00am-12:15pm, Agenda Preview:
 - Report: ASA President attending AAAS Meeting
 - Voting to dissolve the ASA Learning and Communication Technologies Community in the Education/Extension Section

A012 Agronomic Production Systems Section Officers

ACTION: Motion by Calvin Trostle, seconded by Valentin Picasso, to submit a letter to the National Alfalfa and Forage Alliance in support of the Alfalfa Checkoff Program as dollars directly fund research and educational programs. CAO Luther Smith agreed to work with Calvin Trostle on drafting the letter with CSSA. Motion carries with one abstention.

ACS321 Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

Call for ASA Editor-in-Chief to replace Kathy Yeater. Send nominations, including self-nominations to President Kristen Veum, <u>kristen.veum@usda.gov</u>

A018.1 Agricultural Experiment Station Management Community Leaders

The Agricultural Experiment Station Management Community in the Land Management Section voted to change its name to the Long-Term Agricultural Research Community.

A201 ASA Organization, Policy, & Bylaws Committee

- 1. Board to Sign Updated Conflict of Interest Policy and send to Governance Director Sara Uttech, suttech@sciencesocieties.org
- 2. Appointment of Board-Level Committee Members:
 - · A201 ASA Organization, Policy, and Bylaws Committee
 - o Asim Biswas
 - Valentin Picasso
 - A211 ASA Budget & Finance Committee
 - o Amy Shober
 - A537 ASA Science Policy Committee
 - o Tabare Abadie
 - o Tagdeer Gill, Grad Student Rep.
 - Gurpal Toor
 - Any other board members encouraged to volunteer as policy experts, contact CAO Luther Smith, <u>Ismith@sciencesocieties.org</u>

ACS732 Program Planning Committee

President-Elect Peter Kyveryga and Program Planning Officer Jim Ippolito reported that the ACS732 Committee will keep the Comp Policy for Invited Speakers and will look for other opportunities for cost-saving measures.

Consensus to Adjourn.