

American Society of Agronomy Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Tuesday, June 27, 2023 11:45am-1:00pm (Central)

President Joann Whalen called the meeting to order.

Board members present:

President: Joann Whalen, McGill Univ. (2023)

Past President: Dave Clay, South Dakota State Univ. (2023)
Ag Production Systems: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M (2024)
Biometry & Stats. Computing: Maria Villamil, U of Illinois (2024)
Climatology & Modeling: Jessica Torrion, Montana State (2024)
DEI Member-at-Large: Candice Duncan, U of Maryland (2023)
Early Career Rep.: Nicole Fiorellino, Univ. of Maryland (2025)
Environmental Quality: Amy Shober, Univ. of Delaware (2025)
Global Agronomy: Wade Thomason, Virginia Tech (2023)
Grad Student Rep.: Harpreet Kaur, Univ. of Missouri (2023)

ICCA Rep.: Amy Asmus, Asmus Farm Supply (2025) Industry Rep.: Colin Campbell, METER Group (2025)

Land Mgmt & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, U of Maryland (2024)

Ex-Officio: CEO Jim Cudahy

Editor-in-Chief Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS (2023)

Incoming President-Elect Peter Kyveryga, Deere & Co. (2023) Unable to attend:

President-Elect Kristen Veum, USDA-ARS (2023)
Education & Extension: Raj Khosla, Kansas State (2023)
Finance Representative: Gary Feyereisen, USDA-ARS (2023)
Program Planning Officer Jim Ippolito, Colorado State (2025)
ASF Chair Samantha Miller, Corteva Agriscience (2023)
Also attending:

Chris Boomsma, Education Director Susan Chapman, Member Services Director Wes Meixelsperger, CFO & Meetings Director Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer Sara Uttech, Governance Director Matt Wascavage, Publications Director Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

A003 ASA Board of Directors

- 1. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
 - June 27, 2023 ASA Board of Directors Agenda
 - May 17, 2023 ASA Board Meeting Minutes
 - Ethics Task Force recommendation to adopt the Ethics Committee Guidelines
 - ACS321 Committee recommendation to adopt the Artificial Intelligence Generated Content Policy for the journals
- 2. CEO Jim Cudahy reviewed the Workforce Development Task Force Recommendations, which includes that workforce development should be a Cross-Society Objective within our next Strategic Plan.
- 3. In preparation for the ASA-CSSA-SSSA-ASF Strategic Planning July 26-27, 2023 in Madison and Virtual, Governance Director Sara Uttech reviewed the following:
 - ICCA Certified Crop Adviser Executive Committee invited to participate in Strategic Planning, include: Outgoing Board Rep. Amy Asmus, Past Chair Traci Bultemeier, Vice Chair Sandy Endicott, Incoming Board Rep. Andy Knepp, and Chair Isaac Wolford.
 - Tuesday July 25 In-Person: Arrive by 4:00pm Central to Best Western Premier Park hotel in time for 5:00pm dinner at UW-Madison Memorial Union Terrace
 - Wednesday July 26 In-Person at Fluno Center & Remote
 - Thursday July 27 In-Person at Fluno Center & Remote until 3pm Central, depart after or 7/28
 - ASA reimburses travel expenses with receipts (no per diems) per the Travel Policy and itemizing on the Travel Expense Report attached to the Calendar invite and submit with receipts to Sara Uttech
- 4. CEO Jim Cudahy led the board through Strategic Planning exercises, including asking the board, "What Is Our Hedgehog?" and "What factors/dynamics must we change to allow for relentless pursuit of Our Hedgehog?" These exercises reinforced the board's reading material, Good to Great and the Social Sectors by Jim Collins:
 - As a Society, what are we—as Boards, as members, as certified professionals—most passionate about?
 - What drives our economic engine? (what will our members and stakeholders pay for us to do?)
 - At what can we be better than anyone else in the world?

AC318 ASA-CSSA Agrosystems, Geosciences & Environment Editorial Board

ACTION: Motion by Nicole Fiorellino, seconded by Amy Shober, to approve Brian Arnall as Editor, *Agrosystems, Geosciences & Environment* journal, 2024-2026 as recommended by Editor-in-Chief Kathy Yeater. Unanimous approval.

ACS321 ASA-CSSA-SSSA Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

Publications Director Matt Wascavage reviewed the next steps for post-2024 publishing.

A441 ASA Fellows Committee

President Joann Whalen reviewed the 2023 ASA Awards and Fellows recipients. Board members are asked to keep the list confidential until the recipients and non-recipients have been notified. Board members are also asked to encourage award nominations, especially for women and those in other underrepresented groups.

Consensus to Adjourn.