

American Society of Agronomy Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Monday, Jan. 18, 2023 2:00-3:00pm (Central Time Zone)

President Joann Whalen called the meeting to order.

Board members present

President: Joann Whalen, McGill Univ. (2023)

President-Elect Kristen Veum, USDA-ARS (2023)

Past President: Dave Clay, South Dakota State Univ. (2023)

Ag Production Systems: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M (2024)

Biometry & Stats. Computing: Maria Villamil, U of Illinois (2024) Climatology & Modeling: Jessica Torrion, Montana State (2024)

Global Agronomy: Wade Thomason, Virginia Tech (2023)

Industry Rep.: Colin Campbell, METER Group (2025)

Early Career Rep.: Nicole Fiorellino, Univ. of Maryland (2025)

Education & Extension: Raj Khosla, Kansas State (2023)

Environmental Quality: Amy Shober, Univ. of Delaware (2025)

Finance Representative: Gary Feyereisen, USDA-ARS (2023)

Grad Student Rep.: Harpreet Kaur, Univ. of Missouri (2023)

ICCA Rep.: Amy Asmus, Asmus Farm Supply (2025)

Ex-Officio: CEO Jim Cudahy

Program Planning Officer: Jim Ippolito, Colorado State (2025)

Editor-in-Chief Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS (2023)

Unable to attend

DEI Member-at-Large: Candice Duncan, U of Maryland (2023)

Land Mgmt & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, U of Maryland (2024)

ASF Chair Samantha Miller, Corteva Agriscience (2023)

Also attending

Chris Boomsma, Education Director

Susan Chapman, Member Services Director Wes Meixelsperger, CFO & Meetings Director

Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer

Sara Uttech, Governance Director

Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

Matt Wascavage, Publications Director

A003 Board of Directors

- 1. The meeting opened 15 minutes early for optional networking.
- 2. President Joann Whalen provided a special welcome to the new ASA Board Members:
 - ASA President-Elect: Kristen Veum, USDA-ARS Columbia, MO
 - Early Career Board Representative: Nicole Fiorellino, Univ. of Maryland
 - Environmental Quality Section: Board Representative Amy Shober, Univ. of Delaware (re-elected)
 - Graduate Student Board Representative: Harpreet Kaur, Univ. of Missouri
 - Industry Board Representative: Colin Campbell, METER Group
 - International Certified Crop Adviser (ICCA) Board Representative: Amy Asmus, Asmus Farm Supply (re-elected)
- 3. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
 - Jan. 18, 2023 ASA Board Meeting Agenda
 - Dec. 19, 2022 ASA Board Meeting Minutes
- 4. 2023 Board-Level Committees with openings were reviewed and volunteers from the board came forward.
 - CEO Jim Cudahy is seeking additional volunteers for an ASA-CSSA-SSSA Workforce Development Task Force
 - President Joann Whalen reported that appointments are being made to the Ethics Task Force
- 5. Chief Administrative Officer Luther Smith reported that we are continuing discussions on the partnership with Engineers without Borders, and are now looking at next steps.
- 6. Member Services Director Susan Chapman requested that Board Members encourage Award nominations by March 9 via Discussion Boards and reminder of self-nominations for ASA, CSSA, SSSA Awards except Fellow: www.agronomy.org/awards ASA Board Members can only participate in CSSA and SSSA Awards.
- 7. CEO Jim Cudahy reported that the Department Directors are holding a retreat on Jan. 24, in preparation for Strategic Planning. He also announced that Luther Smith has been promoted to Chief Administrative Officer.

ACS598 Carbon and Ecosystem Services Education Project Advisory Committee

Education Director Chris Boomsma provided an update on Decode 6 that included information on partnerships, funding, and communication. Board members are encouraged to visit the website and sign up for the email newsletter, and encourage others to do so as well: www.decode6.org

ACS732 Program Planning

CFO/Meetings Director Wes Meixelsperger announced a Call for Candidates by March 30 to serve as the DEI (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion) Representative on the ACS732 Program Planning Committee.

A101 Nominations Committee

Governance Director Sara Uttech announced the candidates for the March-April 2023 ASA Election.

ACS321 Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

Publications Director Matt Wascavage highlighted several items in the Publications Update, including Peer Review Mentorship, New Transformational Agreements, and Wiley's Research Exchange Tool.

Consensus to Adjourn.