

American Society of Agronomy Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Tuesday, April 23, 2024 11:00am-12:15pm (Central)

President Kristen Veum called the meeting to order.

Board members present:

President: Kristen Veum, USDA-ARS Columbia, MO (2024)
President-Elect: Peter Kyveryga, Deere & Company (2024)
Past President: Joann Whalen, McGill University (2024)
Agronomic Production Systems: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M (2024)
Biometry & Statistical Computing: Asim Biswas, U of Guelph (2024)
Climatology & Modeling: Jessica Torrion, Montana State (2024)
Early Career Rep.: Nicole Fiorellino, Univ. of Maryland (2025)
Education & Extension: Tabare Abadie, Corteva Agriscience (2026)
Environmental Quality: Amy Shober, Univ. of Delaware (2025)
Finance Representative: Gary Feyereisen, USDA-ARS (2026)
Global Agronomy: Valentin Picasso, University of Wisconsin (2026)
Grad Student Rep: Taqdeer Gill, University of Wisconsin (2024)
ICCA Representative: Andy Knepp, Corteva Agriscience (2026)
Industry Representative: Colin Campbell, METER Group (2025)

Ex-Officio without Vote: CEO Jim Cudahy; ASF Chair Stella Salvo, Bayer Crop Science (2024); ASF Vice Chair Heidi Peterson Unable to attend:

DEI Member-at-Large: Candice Duncan, Univ. of Maryland (2026) Land Mgmt & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, Univ. of Maryland (2024) Program Planning Officer Jim Ippolito, Ohio State Univ. (2025)

Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS (2024) Also attending:

Susan Chapman, Special Projects Director Susan Dearing-Bond, Development Director Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer

Linda Dolezalek, Interim Finance & Accounting Director

Sara Uttech, Governance Director Matt Wascavage, Publications Director Suan Varghese, People & Culture Director

A003 Board of Directors

1. The meeting opened with 15 minutes of networking which included the ice breaker "two truths and a lie" by Valentin Picasso.

Facilitators to Lead Topic/Article Selection & Discussion	
February: Asim Biswas – "The Geopolitics of Agriculture & Food"	July: Peter Kyveryga
March: Jim Ippolito - Program Planning	August: Gary Feyereisen
April: Valentin Picasso	September: Calvin Trostle
May: Kathy Yeater – Dirty Publications	October: Taqdeer Gill
June: Colin Campbell	December: Sara Uttech

- 2. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
 - April 23, 2024 ASA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
 - March 26, 2024 ASA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
- 3. CEO Jim Cudahy provided a Headquarters Update that included:
 - Sheri Springer departure, Linda Dolezalek extends contract as Interim Director of Finance
 - Will schedule Budget & Finance Committees to have routine annual meeting with auditor
 - Website redesign progress, including feedback on user experiences from vendor 08
 - Publishing Concepts Inc. (3rd-party publisher) book
 - Workforce Development July meeting, including FFAR, NAPB, ASTA, others
 - Certification uptick with increased marketing focus
 - Summer ASA Board Meeting exercises include:
 - Outreach Presentation
 - Working on telling your story as an "elevator pitch"
 - ASA Strategic Plan: Objectives, Actions, Committee connections to strategic objectives
- 4. Announce: Call for Presidential Award Nominations by May 15 due to Kristen Veum.
- 5. Help Promote: ASA Virtual Sustainable Agronomy Conference free two-hour live sessions each week: July 10, 17, 24, 31 with up to 8 CEUs
- 6. Encourage students to participate ASF Travel Grants due **July 25**: www.agronomy.org/awards
 - Advancing Pedology Award

- Hans Jenny Soil Field Trip Award
- Bridge Scholars initiate 5/6, submit 5/13 Henry Lin Travel Grant
- include 3, 3, 3 define 3, 13
 - <u>Caregiver Travel Award</u>

 <u>Indian University Grad Student Travel Award</u>
- Graduate Student Travel Award

7. Governance Director Sara Uttech reviewed the Hybrid Summer Board Meeting July 9-11: RSVP on Invite: In Person? Click Accept; Virtual? Click Tentative; Can't Attend? Click Decline

July 9 – Arrive anytime, will likely schedule optional meet up for dinner

July 10 – All day board meeting at headquarters in Madison: 5585 Guilford Road

July 11 – Half day board meeting, plan travel home in after noon

- o Book your own travel; we book hotel direct billed (location TBD)
- o Travel expenses reimbursed with receipts and Travel Reimbursement Form
- o Agenda topics/tour ideas to Kristen Veum, Jim Cudahy, Sara Uttech
- o Fly to Madison, Milwaukee (Badger Bus) or O'Hare (Van Galder bus)
- 8. Next Meeting Tuesday May 28, 2024, 11:00am-12:15pm and Agenda Preview:

• Discussion Assignment: May Kathy Yeater

• Update: Decode 6

• Update: Wiley Agreement

A211 Budget & Finance Committee

The 2023 SSSA Financials were presented by Interim Finance Director Linda Dolezalek.

ACS321 Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

- 1. ACTION: Motion by Jessica Torrion, seconded by Joann Whalen, to approve David Clay as ASA Editor-in-Chief as recommended by President Kristen Veum. Unanimous approval.
- 2. ACTION: Motion by Jessica Torrion, seconded by Asim Biswas, to approve the reappointment of Silvia Pampana as Editor of Agronomy Journal for a second 3-year term beginning in January 2025 as recommended by Kathy Yeater. Unanimous approval.
- 3. ACTION: Motion by Joann Whalen, seconded by Gary Feyereisen, to approve the reappointment of John Taylor as Editor of Urban Agriculture & Regional Food Systems for a second 3-year term beginning in January 2025 as recommended by Kathy Yeater. Unanimous approval.
- 4. ACTION: Motion by Nicole Fiorellino, seconded by Colin Campbell, to approve a Technical Editor for Natural Sciences Education as presented. Unanimous approval.
- 5. Director Matt Wascavage provided a Publications Update, which included:
 - Call for Editor nominations due June 1, 2024:
 - ASA & CSSA: The Plant Phenome Journal
 - o ASA & CSSA: Crop, Forage & Turfgrass Management
 - o ASA-CSSA-SSSA: Agricultural & Environmental Letters
 - CSSA: Journal of Plant Registrations
 - o SSSA: Editor-in-Chief
 - o Crops & Soils: Regional Editors (due June 15)
 - Finalizing the Wiley Agreement and will share more details in the May publications update

A213 Community Stewardship and Review Committee

- 1. ACTION: Motion by Valentin Picasso, seconded by Colin Campbell, to approve sunsetting of the Solar Corridor Community due to inactivity and inability to keep leadership current. Unanimous approval.
- 2. ACTION: Motion by Valentin Picasso, seconded by Asim Biswas, to approve moving the Wheat Initiative Agronomists Community from Global Agronomy to the Agronomic Production Systems Section for a better fit. Unanimous approval.

A101 Nominations Committee

ASA Election Results: Incoming President-Elect Wade Thomason, Oklahoma State University.

Consensus to Adjourn.