

American Society of Agronomy Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Thursday Nov. 14, 2024, 7:00-8:45am (Central)

Draft for approval on Dec. 17, 2024 ASA Board Call

Resources: Strategic Plan, Bylaws, Minutes | ASA Membership Dashboard | ASA Board Outreach

President Kristen Veum called the meeting to order. Board members present: President: Kristen Veum, USDA-ARS Columbia, MO (2024) President-Elect: Peter Kyveryga (2024) Past President: Joann Whalen, McGill University (2024) Agronomic Production Systems: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M (2024) Biometry & Statistical Computing: Asim Biswas, U of Guelph (2024) Biometry & Statistical Computing: Nicolas Martin, Univ of Illinois Climatology & Modeling: Jessica Torrion, Montana State (2024) DEI Member-at-Large: Candice Duncan, Univ. of Maryland (2026) Early Career Rep.: Nicole Fiorellino, Univ. of Maryland (2025) Education & Extension: Tabare Abadie, Corteva Agriscience (2026) Environmental Quality: Amy Shober, Univ. of Delaware (2025) Finance Representative: Gary Feyereisen, USDA-ARS (2026) Global Agronomy: Valentin Picasso, University of Wisconsin (2026) Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer Grad Student Rep: Tagdeer Gill, University of Wisconsin (2024) ICCA Representative: Andy Knepp, Corteva (2025) Industry Representative: Colin Campbell, METER Group (2025) Ex-Officio without Vote: ASF Chair Stella Salvo, Bayer CropScience (2024); Program Planning Officer Jim Ippolito, Ohio State Univ.

(2025); CEO Jim Cudahy; Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS (2024); Editor-in-Chief David Clay, South Dakota State Univ. (2027) Unable to attend: Land Mgmt & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, Univ. of Maryland (2024) Also attending: Agronomic Production Systems: Matt Yost, Utah State Univ. Climatology & Modeling Section: David Fleisher, USDA-ARS Land Management & Conservation: Jodie McVane, Texas A&M Incoming Grad Student: Lauren Schwarck, Iowa State Univ. Susan Chapman, Special Projects Director Susan Dearing-Bond, Development Director Sanford Moore, Finance Director Sara Uttech, Governance Director

Matt Wascavage, Publications Director

Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

A002 ASA Board of Directors

- 1. Special Welcome to New Board Members, terms begin 1/1/2025:
 - Incoming President-Elect: Wade Thomason, Oklahoma State Univ.
 - Agronomic Production Systems Section: Matt Yost, Utah State University •
 - Biometry & Statistical Computing Section: Nicolas Martin, University of Illinois •
 - Climatology & Modeling Section: David Fleisher, USDA-ARS •
 - Land Management & Conservation: Jodie McVane, Texas A&M University •
 - Graduate Student Board Representative: Lauren Schwarck, Iowa State University •
 - Editor-in-Chief: Dave Clay, South Dakota State University
- 2. Thank you to Outgoing Board Members, terms end 12/31/2024:
 - Past President: Joann Whalen, McGill University •
 - Agronomic Production Systems Section: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M University •
 - Biometry & Statistical Computing Section: Asim Biswas, University of Guelph •
 - Climatology & Modeling Section: Jessica Torrion, Montana State University
 - Land Management & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, University of Maryland •
 - Graduate Student Board Representative: Tagdeer Gill, University of Wisconsin-Madison •
 - Former Editor-in-Chief: Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS
- 3. ACTION: Consent Agenda approved:
 - Nov. 14, 2024 ASA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
 - Oct. 22, 2024 ASA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
 - Final Ethics Statement, recommended by the ACS Ethics Committee
- 4. CEO Jim Cudahy provided a Headquarters Update, including:
 - ASA Strategic Plan Progress
 - New Website Redesign

- Chief Administrative Officer Luther Smith previewed our New Member Hub launching in November/December
- Senior Publications Program Manager Matt Nilsson previewed the digital CSA News and Crops & Soils, launching in January of 2025
- Director Matt Wascavage provided the November Publications Update
 - Upcoming Webinars: <u>www.agronomy.org/education/online-courses</u>
 - Dec. 3: Oxisols & Mollisols Important Agricultural Soils in Brazil & USA
 - Dec. 6: Inclusive Mentoring: Building Stronger Relationships & Fostering Growth
 - Dec. 12: Policy Update: What the Election Results Mean for Scientists
 - o Dec. 17: Managing Nitrous Oxide Emissions in Drained & Undrained Corn & Soybean

A211 ASA Budget & Finance Committee

Gary Feyereisen, Dave Clay, Peter Kyveryga, Amy Shober, Jessica Torrion, Kristen Veum, Kathy Yeater, Jim Cudahy, Sanford Moore

ACTION: Motion by Gary Feyereisen, seconded by Amy Shober, to approve the 2025 ASA Budget as presented by Finance Director Sanford Moore. Unanimous approval.

A212 Reinvest ASA Committee

President Kristen Veum introduced Reinvest ASA Program with a discussion planned for December.

A092.4 International Certified Crop Adviser Board

ICCA Representative Andy Knepp and CEO Jim Cudahy provided information on progress made following the ICCA needs assessment survey which showed overall contentment but open to future opportunities. We have more work to do to continue to dialogue with CCAs.

A537 ASA Science Policy Committee

CAO Luther Smith presented a Science Policy update that also included:

- Save the Date: Feb. 25-26, 2025 Congressional Visits Day
 - Encourage Grad Students to apply by Dec. 4 to attend: www.agronomy.org/awards/view/185

A101 Nominations Committee

Candidates' interest due to Section Chairs by Nov. 15 with final selection due to Section Board Representative and Sara Uttech by Nov. 30: <u>www.agronomy.org/elections</u> - *encourage women/underrepresented groups to run for office*

- President-Elect: A101 Nominations Committee
- All ASA Section Vice Chairs, 2-year terms: 2 candidates for each Section
- ASA Board of Directors, 3-year terms: 2 candidates for each position:
 - Environmental Quality Section, Industry Board Representative
 - Early Career (within 7 years of terminal degree), apply online
 - Grad Student (2026 grad student even if graduating), apply online

ACS732 Program Planning

Annual Meeting feedback was provided by board members including what they heard from members and at Section and Committee Meetings, which was forwarded to Meetings and Member and Stakeholder staff.

Consensus to adjourn.