

American Society of Agronomy Board of Directors Meeting Agenda Tuesday Dec. 17, 2024, 11:00am-12:15pm (Central)

Resources: Strategic Plan, Bylaws, Minutes | ASA Membership Dashboard | ASA Board Outreach

President Kristen Veum called the meeting to order.

Board members present:

President: Kristen Veum, USDA-ARS Columbia, MO (2024)

President-Elect: Peter Kyveryga (2024)

Agronomic Production Systems: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M (2024)

Biometry & Statistical Computing: Asim Biswas, U of Guelph (2024) Also attending:

Climatology & Modeling: Jessica Torrion, Montana State (2024)

DEI Member-at-Large: Candice Duncan, Univ. of Maryland (2026)

Education & Extension: Tabare Abadie, Corteva Agriscience (2026) Environmental Quality: Amy Shober, Univ. of Delaware (2025)

Finance Representative: Gary Feyereisen, USDA-ARS (2026)

Global Agronomy: Valentin Picasso, University of Wisconsin (2026)

Grad Student Rep: Tagdeer Gill, University of Wisconsin (2024)

ICCA Representative: Andy Knepp, Corteva (2025)

Industry Representative: Colin Campbell, METER Group (2025)

Land Mgmt & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, Univ. of Maryland (2024) Sara Uttech, Governance Director

Ex-Officio without Vote: ASF Chair Stella Salvo, Bayer CropScience

(2024); Program Planning Officer Jim Ippolito, Ohio State Univ.

(2025); CEO Jim Cudahy

Unable to attend:

Past President: Joann Whalen, McGill University (2024)

Early Career Rep.: Nicole Fiorellino, Univ. of Maryland (2025)

Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS (2024)

Editor-in-Chief David Clay, South Dakota State Univ. (2027)

Agronomic Production Systems: Matt Yost, Utah State Univ. Biometry & Statistical Computing: Nicolas Martin, Univ of Illinois Climatology & Modeling Section: David Fleisher, USDA-ARS

Land Management & Conservation: Jodie McVane, Texas A&M Incoming Grad Student: Lauren Schwarck, Iowa State Univ.

Susan Chapman, Special Projects Director

Susan Dearing-Bond, Development Director

Sanford Moore, Finance Director

Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer

Matt Wascavage, Publications Director

Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

A002 ASA Board of Directors

 Governance Director Sara Uttech led a discussion on "Scientific Societies for a Better Society:" https://globalplantcouncil.org/scientific-societies-for-a-better-society

Facilitators to Lead Topic/Article Selection & Discussion	
February: Asim Biswas – "The Geopolitics of	July "The Industries Plagued by the Most
Agriculture and Food"	Uncertainty": Peter Kyveryga
March: Jim Ippolito - Program Planning	August "Food Prices Crisis": Gary Feyereisen
April: Valentin Picasso - Two Truths & a Lie	September Tenure Debate: Matt Yost
May: Kathy Yeater - Dirty Publications	October Mental Health: Taqdeer Gill
June: Colin Campbell – "The Six Types of Working	December Scientific Societies: Sara Uttech
Genius"	

- 2. ACTION: Consent Agenda items approved:
 - Dec. 17, 2024 ASA Board Meeting Agenda
 - Nov. 14, 2024 ASA Board Meeting Minutes
- 3. CEO Jim Cudahy provided a Headquarters update including:
 - Website redesign launches on Dec. 19. Redesigned CANVAS and CCA site will launch later. Member Hub launches on Jan. 15, 2025
 - The Washington DC building, which ASA has owned since 2010, has been empty for several years, and on the market with little interest -- we are looking at renovating to make residential
 - Board outreach opportunities: www.sciencesocieties.org/about-society/outreach
 - ACSESS Board Meeting Task Force will look at the board meeting structure/scheduling

ACS528 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in ASA, CSSA, and SSSA Committee

Chair Tiffany Carter provided an overview of the DEI Committee's activities across 7 working groups: professional conduct, ethics, education and training, policy review, measuring success, mentoring, and Annual Meeting planning. Accomplishments include: DEI/safe space advocate at the meeting, webinars on reducing bias and inclusive practices, statistics report for demographic information, and piloting a mentoring program. The committee is finalizing ethics statements and preparing for a DEI survey to inform future recommendations. For 2025, Code of Conduct Review, Education & Training webinars, a new CSA news series, and a Communications working group.

A212 Reinvest ASA Committee

President Kristen Veum announced the reactivating of the Reinvest ASA Committee with the first task to re-write the guidelines to make them more current and to decide the committee make-up as the current committee is: ASA President as Chair, ASA President-Elect, B&F Committee Chair, and one other Board member appointed to coincide with their Board term, CEO as ex-officio. She suggests adding ASA Past President and also Finance Director to the committee.

A101 Nominations Committee

- 1. Governance Director Sara Uttech announced the 2025 ASA Elections will be held March 3-April 3, 2025. The Section Nominations Committees submitted their 2025 candidates. The President-Elect Nomination Committee, chaired by Kristen Veum, will meet in January 2025, and issued a last Call for President-Elect candidates 3 candidates nominated; will also invite past candidates
- 2. Gary Feyereisen, Finance Representative, announced his retirement from the ASA Board:
 - Call for candidates to be appointed to serve out Gary's term (2025-2026) as Chair of the B&F Committee and member of the ACSESS Budget, Finance & Audit Committee. If interested, contact Kristen, Jim, or Sara. Budget & Finance Committee guidelines: www.agronomy.org/membership/committees/view/get-file/A211/A211-guidelines.pdf

A537 ASA Science Policy Committee

Chief Administrative Officer Luther Smith announced that the new PFAS Committee with National Academies will have Jim Ippolito and Candice Duncan and SSSA members.

President Kristen Veum provided a final thank you to outgoing board members with an informal feedback session:

- What is one thing you have appreciated about serving on the Board?
- What is one thing if on the Board another year, would you like to engage in?
 - 1. Past President: Joann Whalen, McGill University
 - 2. Former Editor-in-Chief: Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS
 - 3. Agronomic Production Systems Section: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M University
 - 4. Biometry & Statistical Computing Section: Asim Biswas, University of Guelph
 - 5. Climatology & Modeling Section: Jessica Torrion, Montana State University
 - 6. Finance Representative Gary Feyereisen, USDA-ARS
 - 7. Graduate Student Board Representative: Tagdeer Gill, University of Wisconsin
 - 8. Land Management & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, University of Maryland

Consensus to adjourn.